Tuesday, March 24, 2026

Eee! Tess Ate Chai Tea: The Newsletter #25 (Fourth Week of May 2018)

E!TACT! #25
New Superman #23, Eternity Girl #3, No Justice #1, Michael Cray #7, Kick-Ass #4, Superman Special #1, Poetry Corner, Grunion Guy's Musical Corner of Music Reviews, and Letters to Me!
By Grunion Guy


2019's Hot Takes On Comics (2019 because I'm so Avant Garde! (Is that how you spell that? (And am I using it correctly?! (I mean the term "Avant Garde" (and also the term "hot takes"))))

New Superman and the Justice League of China #23
By Yang, Peeples, Santorelli, and Hi-Fi

We all know Aquaman is a terrible character that hasn't fit in with modern storytelling since the late '50s. Perhaps he skated through the '60s as an acceptable hero because people reading comic books were on LSD. But into the '70s, he was nothing but a total snore. The preponderance of Quaaludes didn't help his case either. Hell, he was the superhero version of Quaaludes. Bill Cosby got so much pussy handing out Aquaman comic books. Don't at me. Is that what the kids say when they say something controversial? I'm not even sure what it means. Just don't do it. Cosby was a terrible human being. Almost as bad as Aquaman was a superhero.

Oh hey! I just noticed Google loves to drag Cosby too. I looked up Quaaludes just to be sure I was spelling it right. As I flipped back to that tab to shut it down, I noticed this:


Hee hee hee!

My point is that Aquaman isn't any less boring when you make him North Korean and stick him on a more lighthearted Justice League. He's also been given a hard-edged makeover but that doesn't help either. Remember when Peter David tried that and everybody went, "Oh my God! Aquaman is going to be so cool now!" Then after a few issues, everybody forgot to keep buying the comic book and had been raped by Bill Cosby.

About half a year into this newsletter thing and I'm finally utilizing it to its utmost potential! I could never make that joke if I were still on Tumblr! Or in the public eye at all! Or cared about what people think of me!

Rating: This comic book series isn't as good as it was when it began but it's still enjoyable. It retains the exuberance and whimsy of superhero comic books from the 80s but with a modern sensibility. It's as if Chinese heroes forgot to model themselves after The Dark Knight Returns or they've forgotten that their stories are supposed to be so self-aware that they should constantly be questioning how they fit into the world or why they don't become fascist monsters or how effective are they really when they can't save everybody?! Superheroes in China are like bloggers writing newsletters! I really don't have to care about my stupid audience and can simply do whatever I want! Although I shouldn't call my audience stupid because they're obviously super smart if they're reading this.


* * * * * * * * * *


Eternity Girl #3
By Visaggio, Liew, and Chuckry

This series reminds me a bit of "Night-sea Journey" from Barth's Lost in the Funhouse. I didn't say it was exactly the same or that the themes are parallel or that this book is also about a sperm having an existential crisis. I said it "reminds me a bit of" that story. That's important because most people on the Internet don't understand subtlety and love to argue. That makes them the worst people in the world and I'm trying desperately to avoid those people. Of course now I probably have to explain why it reminds me a bit of that story which is the difficult part because "reminds me a bit of" is like seeing the face of somebody you've never met before and knowing it reminds you of another person but not being able to place that person. All you can express is the familiarity.

But I'll try anyway! See, the spermatozoa in "Night-sea journey" is concerned about perpetuating a cycle that only causes agony and misery and loneliness. It contemplates why it's making this journey and how maybe things would be better if all the spermatozoa just refused to participate (if I'm remembering the story correctly. It has been over twenty years since I read the book and I haven't been able to reread it because Upright loaned the book to his girlfriend at the time and she never returned it. I'm glad they broke up! She also once ordered a shrimp dish at a Cuban restaurant and then picked out all the shrimp. Ugh! Oh, and one time, she said she hated Madonna because we were watching a thing about Madonna. Then we both pointed out that we liked Madonna so she was embarrassed because she liked Madonna too but only said she didn't because she assumed we didn't! Then another time, she pronounced wanton like "wonton" and we all laughed and I think we hurt her feelings. I think I also got Upright in trouble once because he told me a sexy secret that I didn't know was a secret (and which I can't remember anymore, dammit! (but I did remember it later and now I'm adding it: he told me Simone had a dream where, in the dream, she wanted me to watch her and Upright have sex! I didn't think mentioning it was a big deal because it was a dream. But then when she got upset, I thought, "Oh! Maybe she does want me to watch them have sex! Ooh la la! Or gross!") and I revealed I knew it at some beerfest which ruined his day because she was embarrassed and mad at him after that. She probably had some good aspects to her personality as well but those stories are less interesting and I forgot them. Especially because all I can think about is the story about being in the Japanese gardens and what happened beneath the bamboo! Ooh la la! Or gross!). In Eternity Girl, she's sort of making the same decision about ending the cycle of life and death except she's a bit more upfront about how selfish she's being. She wants to end everything because it's the only way she can die and she's a bit suicidal. So see? There's a similarity there that was enough to allow me to talk about Simone, Upright's ex-girlfriend! Who knew I wanted to do that so badly?! Not me!

Ranking: I think my main point is that Upright owes me a copy of Lost in the Funhouse! You know my address, Upright! Amazon that shit to me! And don't use the address in this newsletter or it will go to the McDonald's on the corner of Scott and El Camino! [Fun Fact: Upright sent me a copy of Barth's book after this! Thanks, Upright!]


* * * * * * * * * *


No Justice #1
By Snyder, Williamson, Tynion IV, and Manapul

Superhero comic books are the worst at telling stories where everything looks bleak and hopeless because they never resolve the situation in an interesting or emotional or surprising way. In the end, the heroes simply believe in themselves more for no real reason or they throw a bigger punch than they've been throwing or they all finally work together in a way that isn't depicted through story but through Narration Boxes and dialogue where somebody says or thinks, "We need to all work together!" Then the heroes all nod and win.

The best superhero story where the world is about to end and the heroes rally at the end to defeat the bad guy is Pretty Soldier Sailor Moon R: The Movie. I didn't even need to watch it in English the first time to understand it and be moved emotionally by the plot. The part at the end where the Sailor Scouts rally by remembering the times Sailor Moon was there for them, after which they stood up and said, "Usagi!" and "Usagi!" and "Usagi!" and "Usako!" was more touching and believable than any time Superman ever thought, "I just have to believe in myself and justice and Lois Lane's unbelievable lips on my penis!" No wait. That last one about the lips was really good but I don't think it counts because I thought it.

What I'm trying to say is that I have no faith that this story will present an engaging climax to a story that was probably pitched as "Just think about how crazily the fans will react to the heroes teaming up with DC's major cosmic villains! Holy smokes! James, stop fondling my ass crack!" I'm sure DiDio did not stop Snyder in the pitch to ask, "Is the story coherent? Does it have an emotional theme to keep the readers engaged? Does it say something more important than 'heroes can beat up bad guys'?" Although he may have interrupted to ask, "How much is Williamson going to be responsible for? You'll keep him on a short leash, right? God, he's terrible."


In other words, "Remember all the other cosmic threats to the very existence of the DC Universe? Even the ones that destroyed everything and rebooted the entire franchise so we could fix past mistakes by making new ones? That was nothing compared to this! Prepare to believe this threat is super dangerous because we just told you it was the worst ever! Oh my God, the tension!"

The problem is that the Source Wall has a small crack in it and The Guardians are freaking the fuck out. For some reason, Kyle Rayner doesn't step up and say, "I'll handle this! I've been on the other side of that wall and it was nothing for a great hero like me (who was just an average comic book reader, remember! Because they're the greatest, right guys?)" Then he doesn't look at the reader and doesn't wink and doesn't reach out to jerk the reader off a little bit before saving the day. Instead he just floats in the background while Guy Gardner says, "This is some totally new and different shit that can't be compared with all of the other universe ending shit that we've dealt with! And that's me saying that! The guy who always talks super tough! Whoa, we must be in trouble!"

Man! I'm really scared now! This threat is really serious, guys! If the next thing I read is that Lobo pissed himself thinking about the Omega Titans, I'm going to have to read this book with the lights on! I mean, I have to do that anyway but I meant it in an I'm so scared I need the lights on kind of way and not an I can't see a thing without the lights on kind of way!

If you're an aspiring comic book writer, here are a few tips on how to write a believable story about the end of the universe. First, you start with an antagonist that looks like it could juggle planets. Just having something of that size makes the reader think, "Uh oh. This could be trouble!" Second, you have to say, preferably right near the beginning of the story, "This is the worst threat to the existence of everything ever!" You might not want to say it that bluntly. Usually you'll want to tie it into the main character in some way. Perhaps have Batman say something like, "I survived the death of my parents. But I don't know if I'll survive this! Emotionally, I mean! So traumatic!" Or maybe have Martian Manhunter drop his Oreos when he hears the news and rush off without picking them up or making sure the package is resealed so they won't go stale before he returns. That totally suggests he might not ever return! Or maybe have one of the original Justice League lock themselves in the bathroom and then not respond to Mera pounding on the door before she finally breaks in to find that original Justice Leaguer has opened his fishy wrists and scrawled on the wall in his own blood, "IT".


Shit! Things are so bad, Starfire is using contractions!

The opening scene upsets me. Not because the world is being overrun by cosmic monsters but because it seems to suggest Dick Grayson is a pedophile. It shows teams battling the monsters. It begins with Suicide Squad which, of course, means a shot of Harley saying something hilariously wacky. Then it shows Nightwing with the caption, "The Titans." That reminds me that Nightwing is on a team called the Titans which have "recently" regrouped after The New 52 ended in a nostalgic story that focused on how they've been friends for so long. So they're at least in their late twenties, right? Then it shows Starfire who Dick Grayson fucked years and years ago and she has the caption you see above: The Teen Titans. What the fuck? Why is Starfire on the Teen Titans? How old was she when Dick Grayson was fucking her?! No wonder Deathstork has such a hard-on for Dick. Hee hee.

Things are so bad that Amanda Waller has initiated Protocol XI. Now you might be thinking that's a play on Task Force X. See, the so-super-smart thing that some writer came up with in the past was that the X wasn't a letter at all but a Roman numeral! Sure, it's been done before like how Weapon X gave rise to Weapon XI. Probably. What? I'm supposed to know everything about Marvel too?! Anyway, that's old hat to think that way. So Snyder probably thought, "I'm going to surprise everybody yet again! They're going to think Amanda is invoking the next step in the evolution of Task Force X! But what they'll forget is that DC Comics doesn't use lowercase letters! So I'll surprise them when I reveal this is Protocol Xi! That's right! It's the fourteenth letter of the Greek alphabet! That means it's fourteen times greater than Protocol Alpha! Sure, nobody has every heard of that but just think! FOURTEEN TIMES GREATER!?!"

Also it could just mean Protocol Extra Large because Amanda is calling in all the extra large, over-the-top cosmic entities to team up with the Justice League to help save the world.

Brainiac has come not to warn Earth of the universe's impending doom but to make sure they know they were the cause. He's practically defeating everybody on Earth single-handed until Superman shows up to punch him in the face and yell, "NERD!" Then he gives him a space wedgie and a Kryptonian swirly (that's where you stick the head of the person in a toilet while the world around you implodes) before Brainiac is all, "I love to suck big dicks! Mmm! Mmm! I can't get enough of them! Are you satisfied?!" Then Superman high fives Cyborg, slaps Wonder Woman in the ass, and then shotguns a Rainier.


Jesus Christ. Does everybody know about the Suicide Squad's ties to the American government?!

After Superman stops humiliating Brainiac long enough for Brainiac to speak, everybody learns that Brainiac wants to save the universe. He needs the help of Earth's mightiest heroes but in teams that the heroes were too unimaginative to think up. Seriously! Can you imagine Batman working with Lobo? Or Beast Boy working with Deathstork? Or Superman working with Martian Manhunter?! Or Zatanna working with Doctor Fate? Or Flash working with Cyborg? Hilarious! It would never happen in normal circumstances! How does Snyder keep coming up with shit like this?!

Brainiac has decided to form teams based on the four cosmic energies that make up all of reality: Entropy, Wonder, Wisdom, and Mystery. I bet James Tynion IV tried to convince Snyder to use Entropy, Wonder, Whipped Cream, and Amyl Nitrate.

It turns out Waller's Protocol XI really is Task Force XI. I forgot that if Snyder thinks it up, it's brand new and exciting! Stupid Penis. You're supposed to get erect when you read Snyder's cool story ideas! Stop letting Brain distract you by pointing out how none of this is actually original or groundbreaking! You're better than that, Penis. Remember how you totally sabotaged Brain in Algebra by constantly getting it to stare at Grace Bamberger?! Remember how you used to rule the roost?! What's happened to you, Penis? You've lost all sense of wonder! You must be team Entropy.

Anyway (I say "Anyway" too much, don't I? I can't help it! It's the only way to segue back into the boring plot bits after going on the entertaining digressions!), Task Force XI is composed of all DC's greatest psychic characters. Amanda is using them to hack Brainiac so that she can be better informed than any other character in the DC Universe. I bet she even learns about Zero Hour! I don't know how she captured all of Earth's psychics. I bet once you catch the first one, the rest are easy! Or maybe she just put up an ad on Craigslist: "Looking for psychic who loves to receive rim jobs. Contact The Wall at Belle Reve Penitentiary. Don't think about how suspicious that sounds. Just think about the awesome rim jobs!" I would reply to that ad if I were psychic!

Brainiac is about to explain his plan to save the universe when his head explodes due to Amanda Waller's probing psychics. So now all the heroes have to go on is that they need to "find four cosmic trees" which each represent one of the four cosmic energies. That will somehow do something that will allow them to whatever. I'm sure they'll figure it out somehow. Like maybe having Batman dangle Amanda Waller off the side of a skyscraper.

Rating: This is the exact type of mediocre crap that Scott Snyder does now. At some point, he decided to stop writing comic books that told innovative stories which revolved around deep flaws in the main character and provided insight into that character's personality. Apparently it was more fun to write over-the-top end of the universe stories that always wind up being exactly the same. "A bunch of heroes form a bunch of different teams to go on quests for metal or trees or some other cosmic MacGuffin. They are defeated but then they rally and they get the thing they were looking for and save the day. But not before something happens to create an epilogue so that a new and worse cosmic disaster can be sold to comic book nerds six months down the road." At least it's fun in the way comic books should be fun. I'm sick to death of continuity nerds who need Batman to not be written by Tom King because Tom King writes smart, fun, and entertaining stories that aren't completely derived from Batman's entry in Who's Who. Fuck those guys!


* * * * * * * * * *


Michael Cray #7
By Bryan Hill and N. Steven Harris

I'm so racist. I was just typing in the names of the writer and artist for this comic and I thought, "I wonder if Bryan Hill is black?" So I checked his Twitter and discovered that not only is he black but he's also going to be taking over Detective Comics and throwing Black Lightning into the mix. Goddammit, Bryan Hill! I finally got off my lazy ass to drop Detective Comics because I'm sick of Tynioin IV's name (and maybe his writing as well (but mostly his name)) and now I might have to grab it again? Well, I'm not putting it on my pull list! Not because I think I should give it a probationary period to see how I like it but because I can't bring myself to look my comic book store owner in the eye and say, "Um, can I get, um, Detective Comics back on my pull list?" Not that that's something to be embarrassed about. It's just that it will certainly lead to a longer conversation! And who wants to converse with people?! Fucking Doom Bunny, that's who!

Anybody who has enjoyed my comic book blog over the last seven years should thank Doom Bunny because I was mostly writing directly to him for the first two or three (or maybe four or five or six or seven) years! Although he keeps insisting that "Twat Lobo" was his thing, as if that was the pinnacle of my insulting ability! Didn't he read about the time I called Scott Lobdell's mother's vagina a "reverse wood chipper"? Hmm. That didn't make any sense. Aren't all vaginas reverse wood chippers? I mean the heterosexual ones!

Rating: The art is still terrible. The story is better than the art but not great. I think it peaked when Deathblow killed Aquaman. There's only so far you can go with a comic book whose premise is simply "a super rad '90s Image character kills alternate versions of characters you love to hate!" Especially when that premise gets marched out every few years to creepy fans full of bloodlust. I'm looking at you, younger version of me that loved this comic book so much when he discovered that Green Arrow was going to be killed!


* * * * * * * * * *


Kick-Ass #4
By Millar and Romita Jr.

If you read the first Kick-Ass and forgot there was a second one and thought, "I need more of this," I have got some good news for you! We, as human beings, have the ability to reread things! Also you can read this series which is the original joke my lack of impulse control just ruined.

If any serious reviewers out there aren't mentioning how this is just more of the same from Millar then they're either not being honest or they're dumb or they're being paid by Millar (which technically falls into the "not being honest" category but definitely doesn't fall into the "they're dumb" category because I would totally take sweet, sweet Millar bucks to say I'm-not-really-a-writer-but-I-write-reviews things like, "Kick-Ass kicks ass!" or "Hit-Girl is a hit, girl!").

I guess I'm not really honest either but then I'm constantly telling people who won't listen that I'm not really a comic book reviewer either! Also I'm dumb. But I guess those cancel out which is why my reviews are so honest and smart! It's simple math.

Last issue, Mark Millar seeded the plot with one really stupid idea that every reader knew instantly was a built-in crutch for Kick-Ass to get out of the deadly situation she's found herself in: he said the party balloons at the we're-going-to-kill-a-cop party were filled with hydrogen instead of helium. The punk who did it said it was to save money which might be a good plot reason for it but that doesn't explain how much more work it would have been to get hydrogen over helium. Party stores aren't going to have tanks of hydrogen. You have to go to some specialty place that services old timey air balloons and chemistry teachers who are too dumb to make their own hydrogen with tap water. My feeling is some henchman for a drug gang isn't going to be the most ambitious person. Why save a little money on the party when he can probably just skim a few grams of cocaine to sell on the side? Way easier!

Anybody who has ever nearly blown up their chemistry class while trying to make the popping sound of hydrogen being burned understood what was going to happen this issue after the gang member mentioned his money saving party tip. Kick-Ass was going to light the balloons and then probably say, "Oh, the humanity!"

In the ensuing fire, Kick-Ass's brother-in-law is badly burned. Now she has to go to the hospital to watch him die and hope that the bad guys (who will also be there watching him die, probably, because he's like the main bad guy's right-hand man) don't recognize her. Also the bad guys are calling up some guy named Mister Solo who takes care of problems. So she'll have to fight him too. Hopefully the hospital is full of hydrogen balloons so she can make another easy get away.

Rating: It's a Kick-Ass comic book. You know what you're getting.


* * * * * * * * * *


Superman Special #1: Escape From Dinosaur Island
By Tomasi, Gleason, Russell, Flynn, Godlewski, Hitch, Andrews, Eltaeb, and Sinclair

Blog sites like Tinyletter and Blogspot have an auto-save feature to ensure that your document is saved every few seconds to make sure that if there's a sudden loss of everything, you can be sure that the one thing not lost is your precious writing. But what they don't have is a means to not save your document immediately after accidentally highlighting a whole paragraph instead of just a word and then hitting the space bar. Because obviously since the text was just changed, the system thinks, "Whoa! Better save that immediately!" Stupid fucking Tinyletter. Now nobody will get to read why this E!TACT Newsletter is probably going to be late! Well, they'll read why it's late. It's because I've been spending most of my free time playing Silvern Castle. But what they won't read because I don't want to rewrite it is my explanation of what that is (which also leads into an explanation of what Wizardry was and what the Apple IIe was and things a high school virgin does in his not-having-sex time) and the story about the confused homeless person who finds my non-existent 'zine but does not have access to Google. That's probably self-explanatory anyway.

The version of me from two weeks ago wasted five dollars on this Superman Special #1 so I guess I should read it even though I got really bored as soon as I read the word "dinosaur."

Now that I read it, I hate me from two weeks ago.

Rating: If a more boring comic book has ever been written, I've probably purchased it and read it and forgotten all about it. Because it was so boring. Which, thankfully, is what will happen with my memories of having read this euthanasia drug in a four color format. I'm not exaggerating when I say I immediately began to fall asleep at my desk after having read this before stumbling to the couch and falling asleep for two hours. So I guess I can now blame having read this comic book for why the E!TACT Newsletter is running late!

Seriously though (although, I really was serious in the last paragraph so I don't know why I'm beginning this paragraph in that manner), I was thoroughly bored. I think the main story about Superman and Jon rescuing Captain Storm from Dinosaur Island was supposed to be some kind of Memorial Day story? Like, lets honor our promise to our vets or something? If it wasn't that (and it barely was that if it was!), I have no idea why the story needed to be told. Perhaps it was just an advertisement for a future Losers comic book?

I was even bored by the Mark Russell story and I'm never bored by his stories! I usually read a Mark Russell story and then write six paragraphs about the veins in my suddenly rigid penis. But this time, I read it and was all, "What happened? Why is my penis inside of me? Is this a vagina?" In the story, Superman rescues an old man from a collapsing building. The old man asks Superman to go back and save his photos. So Superman is all, "Okay. I guess? What else am I going to do?" As he's going back to rescue photos and not making sure everybody on the ground is safe (since, you know, a building is collapsing?), he hears a puppy barking from another unit. He thinks, "Well, I can't save the puppy and the photos in time? What a dilemma!" Although, you know, it's not a dilemma at all! Of course he rescues the puppy. Then when the old guy is all, "But my photos! MY PHOTOS! OH THE HUMANITY!", Superman is all, "Here. Take care of this puppy. Memories are whatever." Then the comic ends and I had to imagine the scene where the original owner of the puppy, a little immigrant girl from Poland who had received the puppy to help her deal with the trauma of moving to a new country where she doesn't speak the language, cries her eyes out because it died in the accident. Superman is a fucking asshole.

I think the message of the final story was this: Superman loves to give people second and third chances but he's wrong to do so because super villains hate him so much that they just can't be rehabilitated, no matter how big of a lesbian Maggie Sawyer is.


* * * * * * * * * *


Poetry Corner with Grunion Guy!


Metaphor

Sometimes when you have something really important to say,
You want to say it as a poem so that it also feels emotional and smart.
But then you need to think of a metaphor for that thing
Or else what you're saying just sounds like prose.

So say I want to talk about bad memories and how they made
You what you are even though they're bad.
Maybe I could say they're a demon and it's inside you!
That might sound scary but it's not! It's just the metaphor!

And I don't want to scare anybody so after I mention the demon inside the reader,
I'd better immediately say what the demon represents!
Then the reader can exhale and think, "Whew! I almost called an exorcist!
"Boy, wouldn't that have been another bad demon inside of me?!"

The exorcist would have been, "Hello? How can I help you?
"I mean, I know how I can help you! I really only do one thing as an exorcist!
"I was just being polite and letting you know that I had answered the phone,
"And that I was ready to listen to you speak!"

Then you, the reader, would have said, "Oh! I was just reading this great poem.
"And it said I had a demon inside of me. But I just happened to read the second line
"As I was waiting for you to answer the phone and now I'm embarrassed
"For having called you over nothing. This is now a bad memory!"

Later, the exorcist would grow really curious and hit star sixty nine.
The reader would pick up the phone and say, "Hello?"
Then the exorcist would say, "Hello. We spoke earlier and you mentioned a poem.
"Do you know where I could get a copy of that poem?"

And from that conversation, word of mouth would spread,
And I would see my book of poems on the list of New York Times Best Sellers.

--Grunion Guy


* * * * * * * * * *


Grunion Guy's Musical Corner of Music Reviews!



Everyday by Buddy Holly
This song is from a time when people did not have sex. You can tell by the beat of the song. Nobody could have sex to that. They'd be all, "Bam bam bam bam bam bam bam bam bam bam bam a-ay a-ay-ay!" Near the end of the song, somebody begins hitting a glass stirring rod against a bunch of test tubes and beakers for some reason. Probably because they're antsy in their pants about not getting any sex. Another way you can tell this song is old is the way Buddy Holly compares their love to the fastest thing at the time: a roller coaster. We have way faster things now! Like cars and planes. Oops. I probably shouldn't have mentioned planes.
Grade: B.


Machine Ballerina by Suzanne Vega
Suzanna Vega's original draft of this song was called, "What Am I To You? Just Something To Fuck When You're Feeling Horny?!" But her producer was all, "Whoa, whoa, Suzy! Tone it down a bit! That's something that slut Debbie Harry would sing about! People love you for your great songs like Uncle Tom's Cabin and Luke Skywalker!" Then she was all, "Well, I once read a terrific poem about metaphor by a really great writer and I also once heard a Monkees song that was basically about date rape and toys. Maybe I could do something with those influences!" Then she came up with this song and the producer sold "What Am I To You? Just Something To Fuck When You're Feeling Horny?!" to Belinda Carlisle.
Grade: B.


Under the Western Freeway by Grandaddy
The music to this song is exactly what I imagine a tumbleweed hears as it goes about its business in the background of westerns and back roads of Arizona. If you've never heard this song, I imagine you have no idea what that might sound like. But if you have heard this song, you're now thinking, "Holy shit. That's exactly what this sounds like! It also sounds like a kid was told to write a three minute song and came up with fifteen seconds of music that he decided to put on a loop. But that's basically what you said with the tumbleweed thing!" But don't let this review and the subsequent grade lead you to believe that the album this is from (also called Under the Western Freeway) isn't a good album! It's just that Grandaddy must have thought, "What's a good way to make people think this record sucks? How about we do a title track that's more boring than Superman Special #1: Escape From Dinosaur Island?!"
Grade: D+.


Cars Pass in Cold Blood by The Faint
I've had this album for years and never really paid attention to the lyrics of this song so I decided to look them up online right now. I'm more confused about this song than before I knew the lyrics! It felt right listening to this song as Jesus's apostles listened to his parables. I would think, "Oh yeah, Todd! Cars do pass in cold blood! And there really isn't any time for whatever you just said in the line before! Totally get where you're coming from, dude. Rock it out!" But now that I've read the lyrics, I have a feeling Todd was sitting in traffic one day when an ambulance was trying to get by and some business man was trying to get around the traffic and blocked the ambulance and Todd thought, "I wish I had that guy's balls!" Then he wrote a song about it. I wish Jesus were here to explain the parable to me since I obviously have no ability to understand it.
Grade: B+.


己を信じて進むのみ by 手塚理・Vink2
This is from the Slayers (スレイヤーズ) Next soundtrack. It sounds a bit like a marching song. Slayers was a Japanese cartoon about a wizard named Lina Inverse who had small breasts. I'm pretty sure that's important to the narrative since Ghourry and all of the enemies Lina encounters mention it constantly. But it's not one of those Japanese cartoons where you get to see naked people or squids do sexy things to orifices. It's rated whatever rating is the one that doesn't mind the constant talk of small boobs and where another important plot point can be how Lina loses her powers when she's menstruating. I haven't watched the series in a long time because I own it on VHS. I do remember watching it in the '90s one time while on LSD. I was with my not-yet-burned-up friend Bobby Henline (you can Google him if you're curious about that statement (but don't read his poetry or you might begin to think my poem was making fun of his)) and I came up with the classic routine about the VCR remote control. It went something like this, "How come when you hit the play button, it plays the video. And when you hit the pause button, it pauses the video. But you can also hit the pause button to play the video once it's paused? What's up with that?!" Such classic stuff! I also realized how triangles and the number three were at the center of understanding the meaning of the universe but when I sobered up, I couldn't remember how to express it and it didn't seem important anymore anyway.
Grade: C.


* * * * * * * * * *


Letters to Me!


KB Writes: Guess who's been a useless lump of lump? Me! Haven't been writing, though I have been reading your newsletters.

My Reply: I wish I wasn't writing! You know how much Fortnite there is to be played? It's not going to play itself, you know? Stupid obsession with putting my thoughts onto virtual paper! Where has it gotten me? In a place where I've played far less Fortnite than I wanted to!

KB Writes: You said: "We have become a society where the thing you love must somehow remain the thing it was at the moment you began loving it (and you must also be the only one that loves that thing as much as you love that thing because obviously nobody else understands it the way you do (although you hate them for not understanding it the same way. How can they not?! (But then if they said they did, you'd think to yourself, "Pshaw. Poseur.")))."

I think our brains are wired to worry about things, but in a society where most of our worries are more existential than practical, the worry-lobes of our brains make damn sure we have something to worry about. It's like how our immune systems are built to identify invaders from early childhood, but kids growing up in oversanitized households end up with allergies because their immune systems get bored and start identifying peanut butter sandwiches as a deadly threat. In the same way, people who are very very comfortable develop strong opinions about, say, the "Thundercats" reboot. (We Star Trekly types, at least, have been taught to feel a little shame for our obsessions.)

My Reply: This probably makes scientific sense and I'm going to espouse this belief from now on whenever some kid with a peanut allergy wanders by. I'll be all, "KB says you're mom tried to have you killed!" Then I'll shove three Nutter Butters in my mouth and say, through a mouth full of nutty goodness, "Oh man. These are so worth dying for! Want one?" Then he'll probably die from the peanut smell on my breath. Good! He deserved it, probably.

Fun Star Trek fact: my house number growing up was 1701! I never dressed it up as the Starship Enterprise on Halloween though because I was lazy.

KB Continues as if I hadn't rudely cut him off mid-thought: The thing is, there are all sorts of things that need to be done in our world, so if you're bored enough that you can stand in line for "Rick and Morty" giveaways at McDonalds, that's a sign that you should open your eyes and widen your circle. Help somebody with such resources as you have. It's not hard to find people who need help; hell, QKB and I are a little frightened of making new friends because we keep finding people in trouble, and our little life raft often feels like it's a little past capacity already. It's exhausting, but we take at least some comfort in not being the sort of people who would riot because McDonalds didn't make enough Szechuan Sauce.

My Reply: I imagine if I wasn't so narcissistic, I'd point out that I am one of the useless masses. I think we should put people into two groups: those who would actually be useful at rebuilding society after civilization crumbles and those who would just be in the way. I have a feeling the new world wouldn't need somebody standing nearby making fun of the guy setting up the aqueduct because he sewed the leaves on his frock poorly. Also I would be naked because sewing? Ew!

KB Asks: Speaking of, do you have any tofu-cooking tips? I came up with a recipe recently: tofu fried with cinnamon, honey, and cranberries. Tastes like Christmas in a vegan compound.

My Reply: I don't have any tofu cooking tips. Frying it is probably best. Make it nice and crispy and crunchy and add some kind of hot sauce, depending on your taste. This is unhelpful because I don't ever remember the things advertisers want people to remember (I'm terrible at capitalism) but there was...oh! I just remembered so maybe I'm not so bad at it! There was a product called Smart Grounds that I used to use to make tofu tacos. It had the consistency of ground meat. After flavoring it with taco seasoning, you could hardly tell the difference. A little drier than actual beef or turkey but that just means less greasy!

KB Writes: Snagglepuss said: "The purpose of art is subversion. Art is telling the world how it's killing you. How its institutions have failed you. In the end, any culture worth a damn is made by subversives. Because art is what tells the world it needs to change. Power merely redecorates it."

Goddamn Snagglepuss, that's some insight. The pedant in me (possibly Atom Ant) wants to observe that there are other legitimate purposes for art, but probably none are as important as challenging the audience.

My Reply: Yeah, the pedant in you doesn't need to add anything. Snagglepuss was speaking in a particular context to a particular set of freedom crushing bastards. I'm sure, in other settings, he'd have other things to say about art. I just love the sentence "Art is telling the world how it's killing you." Hoo boy.

KB Writes: You wrote: "Anyway, I'm about to read Frankenstein and I think it might cause some feelings in much the same way Snagglepuss has. Did that sound dirty?"

Sorry, no. Mostly I found myself thinking, 'whatever you do, don't read Dracula, or as I call it, "Eastern European Train Schedules: The Novelization".'

My Reply: So I've been reading Frankenstein and so far, Victor has created the monster out of mystery and hard work. But immediately after he's successful, he freaks the fuck out and lets it go on its own. So he didn't mind spending nine months in a sweltering summer apartment full of loose body parts but he can't bear to spend a single second in the presence of a living person. I totally get that.

Later, when Victor once again encounters his creation two years later, Shelley writes, "A flash of lightning illuminated the object, and discovered its shape plainly to me; its gigantic stature, and the deformity of its aspect, more hideous than belongs to humanity, instantly informed me that it was the wretch, the filthy daemon, to whom I had given life. What did he there? Could he be (I shuddered at the conception) the murderer of my brother? No sooner did the idea cross my imagination, than I became convinced of its truth; my teeth chattered, and I was forced to lean against a tree for support. The figure passed me quickly, and I lost it in the gloom. Nothing in human shape could have destroyed that fair child. He was the murderer! I could not doubt it. The mere presence of the idea was an irresistible proof of the fact."

Fucking gorgeous passage. Can we just get teachers to teach this one paragraph? In it, it contains all the psychology of systemic racism and belief in conspiracy theory and conservative debate! "The mere presence of the idea was an irresistible proof of the fact." Fucking hell. Somebody read this to every police officer in America. And then explain it to them, of course!


* * * * * * * * * *



I really wrote too much this week! Later, jerks!

Friday, March 20, 2026

Batwoman #1 (March 2026)


Batwoman is to The X-Files as Batman is to Perry Mason.

Batwoman #1 (March 2026)
By Greg Rucka, DaNi, Matt Hollingsworth, and Hassan Otsmane-Elhaou
Cover by DaNi and Matt Hollingsworth
Edited by James Reid and Rob Levin

• I don't know a whole lot about Batwoman. I read her New 52 series which was beautifully drawn by J.H. Williams III but I don't remember as much of it as I should¹. I think she battled Killer Croc (or counseled him?) and La Llorona and Chupacabra and the Loch Ness Monster and her sister who was like crazy and maybe super hot? Or was that her ex-lover? Maybe both? Also her father was a tight-ass general who had "Patriarchy" written across his chest like he was in a political cartoon.

• I also remember her from James Tynion's run on Detective Comics where Tim Drake kept telling her to do what he says because he was a young bisexual genius with more representation than her boring old lesbian woman schtick and she was all, "Fuck you! I'm going to shoot people in the face if I have to! Also Clayface is evil. Or good. I forget which side I'm taking on this!" But they both agreed that Batman was out-of-control with his white male Cis privilege. Wasn't there some young tart² named Spoiler in that too?

• The story opens on an asylum in Greece where everybody has the most Grecian names possible to remind the reader that they're in Greece. They're all, "Thank you Nicholas!", and "You're welcome, Zena," and "Is Dorothea a Grecian name? It might as well be because it helps to make my point!"

• I would define the art style as "abstract Mary Worth".

• The woman in the asylum being psychoanalyzed by Zena is Kate Kane. That's the non-wig version of Batwoman. She's super beat up and defeated, possibly because she got her ass kicked in DC's recent DC's Mike Tyson's Punch Out Presents mini-series. I don't know who she got her ass beat by because I didn't read it even though I meant to read it. The reason I didn't read it was because there were too many fucking tie-ins that probably didn't matter. I thought it was going to be a bunch of comics based on the brackets they set up and then apparently they didn't even show most of the battles? I'm so glad I didn't read it! Although if Lobo beat up Batwoman³, I'm sorry I missed that.


Not with that attitude it won't!

• Batwoman's therapist asks her about the last time she saw her sister which is really important to readers like me who love to see women's underwear.


This is Batwoman's sister Beth. You might recognize her.

• This story is called "Eschatology". I think that's the science of eating snails.

• Kate tells the therapist⁴ that her twin sister died when they were twelve. But we, the readers, know she isn't dead. Some readers who have better memories than me and are less focused on women's undergarments probably remember the entire story of Beth Kane. But that's not me because women's undergarments women's undergarments panties thongs moist gussets.

• In a flashback, we learn that Beth was prepared to set off a bomb that would create an Apokolips firepit underneath some city⁵. Kate tried to appeal to her sister's sense of mercy and ethics and fashionable underpants. But Beth, being crazy and dead at twelve, wasn't in the mood to listen.


Did this occur during DC's Mike Tyson's Punch Out Presents?

• Some people choose sides based on ethics and morality. I choose side based on the aesthetic choices of the combatants. And even though Kate Kane has some stellar fucking boots, I'm all the way Team Beth. Not only does she look hot, she also looks like cake! Mmm, I want to eat her so badly.

• I guess Beth is working for Darkseid. Did Darkseid win the DC's Mike Tyson's Punch Out Presents? Is that why there's going to be a Reign of the Superboys? Because Superman made it to the final bracket and was "killed"? Also, was Beth really big enough to be in the brackets? Or is she just an out-of-control fan overturning busses after her team won/lost?

• I love Beth's look so much that I might be losing interest in Lobo! Is that possible? What's happening?! I think I'm being groomed by Beth! It makes sense because I've crushed on Alice and her LSD world since I was a child and Beth has taken the name Alice. So maybe I love her? Or do I just really love panties and cake? Life is confusing.


And pale boobs! Don't forget those! Tasty, icing covered pale boobs.

• Goddammit. Now I want boobs and cake!

• Batwoman and her sister Alice/Beth battle until they fall off of a cliff. Is that what happened? Or was that just a metaphorical scene representing how they're stuck in a cycle of battling each other over and over until one of them must eventually die? Even though this is a bit confusing, I'm still glad I didn't try to read DC's Mike Tyson's Punch Out Presents and all of its tie-ins.

• Back in Greece instead of wherever the flashback took place⁵, Kate cries a bit and the therapist is all, "Well, that's it for today! You're probably nearly cured now, right? No, no! Don't answer that! Your hour is up! We'll continue next time with what Beth's bra looked like."

• Kate goes back to her room to stare at a picture of her licking her sister when they were pre-twelve. Meanwhile, somebody somewhere else⁵ speaks in Narration Boxes to somebody else about how Alice is indeed dead but they think they can remake Kate Kane in her image. Then she'll be "the herald of Anti-Life".

• The man who wants Kate is called Mr. Gores. The woman whose got eyes on Kate in the sanitarium is named Despina. Her loyal servant in the weird Greek choral mask is Slay. They're all working on behalf of Darkseid. I'd probably understand more of what's going on with Darkseid if I'd read any All In books that came out well before March 18th. But I've only read the March 18th, 2026 books! So I'll just assume Darkseid's still all hot and bothered about the Anti-Life Equation and he hates Superman and he wants to turn Earth into another Apokolips where he has control of all the metahumans and maybe also the one place where Love exists or something.

• As the three evil doers plot to kidnap Kate Kane and turn her into a Silver Surfer of Darkseid, Batwoman appears at their window and dangerously shines a laser into their eyes. Then she swears! But it's in typography so I can't be sure if she called the bad guy a cock or a cunt.

The Ranking!
How did I buy three DC comic books on Wednesday and wind up with three interesting books? Has DC been publishing interesting comic books again? I know I've been away for some years but it still doesn't seem possible. I've got to assume that the Deathstork book is a fluke that will quickly spiral into unreadability. But I think Batwoman will continue to be dark and gritty and full of women's undergarments so I'll keep picking it up. And Lobo is Lobo so that's not even a question. I hope these aren't fucking gateway comics that lead me into the hell realm of wanting to buy even more $4.00+ comic books!


__________________________________________________________________________________
¹ Which is weird because the whole point of writing about these comic books is to cement them better in my memory. But I think what actually happens is that I make a lot of stupid jokes while not totally paying attention to the plot.
² I mean that in the most affectionate way! Like when you were young and you'd go to the ice skating rink to hang out with your peers and that one girl with the big boobs would lay herself across your back while laughing and flirting and even though you knew she wasn't serious it was still really appreciated and you always remembered her fondly. Is that the definition of a young tart? Should I look up what it really means or just keep using language incorrectly to the detriment of my reputation?! Bah, looking shit up is for nerds and tarts!
³ My guess is that Lobo did not battle Batwoman because it might have gotten a bit homophobic. Although I think maybe Lobo battled Wonder Woman and that was probably super sexist. But in a fun way!
⁴ I know! I hate that word too! I noticed it said "The Rapist" long before that SNL skit where fake Sean Connery says, "I'll take the rapist for $200, Alex!"
⁵ Probably Gotham, right?

Deathstork the Terminator #1 (March 2026)


If Deathstork were actually any good, he wouldn't need laser sites to aim. Shit. Was that ableist? Does he need them because he only has one eye?! Oh, who cares. He's a pedophile!

Deathstroke #1 (March 2026)
By Tony Fleecs, Carmine Di Giandomenico, Ivan Plascencia, and Wes Abbott
Cover by Carmine Di Giandomenico
Edited by Marquis Draper and Brittany Holzherr

• I guess March is Anti-Hero Month at DC Comics because alongside Lobo, they've also released BatmanButWithTits¹ and Paedo the Terminator. It was probably a good move because idiots like me² figure as long as they're in the store picking up Lobo #1, they might as well pick up Batwoman #1 and Deathstork the Terminator #1 as well.

• While doing a little research to see if I've collected every volume of Deathstork that exists to date (I have), I noticed that this series was Volume 2 of Deathstork the Terminator and not Volume, I don't know, 3? 4? of simply Deathstork. In essence, this is a sequel to the early '90s series where Deathstork got to participate in Total Chaos and was almost outshined by a ginger troll from the future who loved to say, "Cheese this!" Boy, wasn't that an exciting time for Titans fans! Evil Nightwing! Rapist Mirage! Terry Long creeping out another generation of teenagers! Terra back to tempt Paedostork!

• I'm going to read this entire comic book while picturing everybody naked. Especially if Wintergreen is in it. I mean Rose Wilson! I fucking meant Rose Wilson!

• Oh, I'd also like to point out that I think Rose Wilson is 50-something so don't start talking about pots and kettles, you jerk! Rose was conceived while Slade was in Vietnam, right? So, you know, do the math! I mean, have your smart phone do the math! We're "All In", baby, and that means whatever happened in the DC Universe happened! Rose Wilson just looks young because she's full of super soldier semen. I mean serum.


The DC Wiki has a long list of Rose Wilson's powers but "talking while drinking" isn't one of them. I should update it!

• I wonder how many times Billy and Alfred have stood around smoking cigars and shaking their heads as they watched their "Masters" beat the shit out of each other? I bet they're best friends!

• Why's everybody in the Deathstork universe have white hair?

• Oh, I should finish Rose's thought for her from that last panel! She finishes her statement with "He's a killer." Well, I'm glad somebody isn't delusional about Slade Wilson! I mean, she's delusional in that she probably doesn't think he's a Paedo but, well, you know. All in, baby!

• I've often had people scream at me online in their defense of Deathstork, claiming he's not a pedophile at all. But did you read that part about how I have every single run of Deathstork comics?! You can like the character and still acknowledge that he knowingly groomed and fucked an underage girl. And don't take buy into Marv Wolfman's whole thing about Terra seducing Slade! Marv had some weird ideas about older guys and younger women. Also weird ideas about demons from other dimensions that super loved rape. He also once looked me straight in the eyes and said, "There will be an animated Elfquest movie." Okay, maybe not straight into my eyes and more like straight into the ears of everybody in the room at that panel at Comicon. But it felt like he ripped out my soul when that movie never materialized.

• Why was Marv Wolfman talking about an animated Elfquest movie? I don't remember the particulars but I think he was involved with the Pinis somehow trying to get it done. I don't think I'm remembering that wrong although I very well could be. I should also blame the Pinis for ripping out my soul but then they didn't create Terry Long so I can easily forgive them.

• Later that evening, Deathstork's on a job to murder somebody for money. He doesn't know who he's murdering for money because he gets extra money for murdering unknown people because it's harder to look Batman in the eye and say, "I'm not a villain! I'm an anti-hero! Like your dead sidekick!" Because you can't have the word "hero" anywhere near your name if you're fucking underage girls. I mean if you're murdering people without any knowledge of the people you're murdering. He's just taking the word of a person with a bunch of money that he's murdering a terrible person. Hell, maybe Slade doesn't even have to tell himself the world's a better place because he killed somebody. He just has to know the numbers keep going up in his bank account.


Oh look! Slade's actively making the world a worse place by killing a whistleblower!

• The typeface used in this series is going to drive me fucking batty. It's just too small! When I shrink a longer panel down to 600 pixels to fit within my blog's boundaries, it becomes really hard to read. Stupid Wes Abbott! Use Bold Arial or something so I can see it clearly!

• To make sure this first issue is super exciting, Tony Fleecs writes in a scene where Deathstork rides atop an armored car as it crashes off the eighth floor⁵ of a parking garage and into the middle of a special forces escort protecting his target. Slade's left hand holds his staff which is pressed down on the accelerator of the vehicle leaving him to shoot his semi-automatic rifle one-handed. He can do all of this because he's a super soldier and also because he's a comic book character but mostly because Tony Fleecs sat down to write this script and thought the answer to the question, "Should this be in any way believable, even as a comic book?" was "No! No! By all the Gods in Heaven, NO!"

• Deathstork explains to Wintergreen that the people he's killing who were just paid to protect a whistleblower don't mean anything to him. He doesn't hate them. He doesn't pity them. He barely even thinks about them as he cuts them all down and ends their one and only existence. But he does despise the people who pay him to kill people because they're all, "Do it this way! Don't do it this way!" Wintergreen is all, "I think that's what's called 'being employed'?"

• I'm glad to see Fleecs writing Deathstork as the sociopath he truly is. The only problem with having a monthly comic book about a villainous sociopath is that there's no motivation other than to watch them be awful monsters. That's why the bartender in Lobo #1 had that bit about some "honorable reason" needing to be "shoehorned" into their motivations. There's a big difference in an anti-hero monthly and a villain monthly. I thought I would enjoy Giffen's Eclipso monthly back in the early '90s and, hoo boy, let me tell you: booooooooooo-ring. Just nowhere to go, man! Aside from Eclipso walking around outside the panels on the pages, there wasn't much more to enjoy. Hopefully Deathstork, having a bunch of human connections in his life that he has to navigate, will allow for more drama and story fodder. Eclipso was just sitting on the moon being mad at stuff.

• Although as I say all that, I'm sure Deathstork will have some weird change of heart when he sets his eyes on the client for the first time. Probably be a clone of himself or something and he'll be all, "Wait? What?! I have to kill myself?! But, but, existentialist crisis!"


Well, if these are the kind of self-preservation at any cost assholes that Deathstork's killing then I'm not going to think much about them either. Have fun, Slade!

• During Deathstork's assault on the compound where the target's being held, he's mentally composing a letter to Rose to apologize for being a murderous piece of shit father. I threw in the "murderous" there to distinguish him from all the other piece of shit fathers out there who didn't have to resort to murder to be truly awful. Deathstork's barely exceptional even if he got two out of his three kids killed. Lot of deadbeat dads out there who'd rather hate other men than love their kids.

• Deathstork kills a lot of random men and then he's knocked to the ground by a couple of non-random women.


Weren't these two in Resurrection Man? Enh, I'm probably thinking of somebody else and somebody else.

• Deathstork sets up these women and their "Body Doubles, bitch!" entrance by saying this: "Wintergreen, I've only got one eye . . . how is it that I'm seeing double?" But that would only work if the two women in Body Doubles looked identical. Which they absolutely don't. Which means Tony Fleecs only wrote that line to set up their "Body Doubles, bitch!" introduction to Slade. This is worse plotting than having an assassin ride an armored car through the air while shooting a semi-auto rifle with one hand!

• The dark haired woman of the Body Doubles duo probably shouldn't be dressed so Lolita-esque because now Deathstroke is going to want to fuck her.


See?! He's so gross! I can't wait to buy more of his comics!

• Wintergreen gives Slade some intel on the women in Body Doubles. They're names are Carmen Leno and Bonny Hoffman. They have healing factors. He doesn't give their ages which Slade wouldn't give a shit about anyway, I guess, so, well, Wintergreen knows the important stuff to pass along.

• One of the Body Doubles stabs Slade in the heart which causes him to see his life flash before his eyes. Grant. Joseph. Adeline. The young girl he groomed. You know, Tara! Say her name, right?! TARA! Was Tara Terra's actual name? Seems like a bad choice. Especially since she was a famous princess and everybody would be all, "She seems familiar?" Then she'd be all, "I'm Terra!" And everybody would be, "Oh! Yeah! Tara Markov! That's why she looked so familiar!" And she'd be all, "No, no! I said, 'Terra!' T. E. R. R. A. Dammit!"

• Slade remembers that he has a healing factor and stops seeing his life flash before his eyes. Then he stabs and shoots the Body Doubles before kicking in the door leading to his actual target. Who will it be? What will be the big reveal?! A Caucasian father! Divorced. Three kids! Will it just be a fucking mirror?!


Surprise! It's Alfred's best friend!

• I hope that note is from Batman! But it's probably from Red Hood. Or, you know, Rose, maybe? Would Rose do this to Wintergreen? Of course she wouldn't! It's got to be, um, resurrected Joseph! Or resurrected Grant! Or resurrected Adeline! Or resurrected Tara! The only suspects Deathstork knows are all dead.

• It could be Memento Slade Wilson! Maybe he's trying to get himself to feel anything at all by taking a fuck-ton of Ambien every night so that he disassociates and then gives himself terrible experiences to ignite his feeling sensors! Seems like a lot of work when he could just go out and rent Pig.

• Wintergreen has been dead too long for Slade to do the kissy kissy of life on him. Later, Slade discovers that all his accounts have been drained of cash. His Gotham Bank account. His Deathstork, Inc account. Even his account at the Bank of Markovia which seems a little, um, inappropriate. Why's he gotta bank there after all this time?!

• So somebody used Wintergreen to steal all of Slade's money because Wintergreen had access to it all. If this were a movie, it would have to be Rose because she's the only other character in the comic book. Aside from Body Doubles but I think they were just there to establish some early nemeses for this ongoing series. Deathstork versus two nubile women who also have healing factors! So paedo!

• The issue ends with the person who has been talking to Deathstork this entire time pretending to be Wintergreen saying, "Tick tick, Slade." Then the room explodes. Slade lives but he ends his internal missive to Rose saying something like, "You said I was a killer. But now I'm worse than a killer because everybody stole everything from me and Wintergreen, who kept me in check, is dead and I haven't groomed a young girl in a long time! The world is going to rue the day, bitches!" That's when I stood up and applauded!

The Ranking!
How was this this good? Did I forget DC could publish good new comics after injecting my veins with Pure New 52 for five years (or was it six? How long did they give it before they were all, "Can we get Superboy to punch this universe too?"). I imagine whoever just pissed off Slade won't be the most exciting reveal when it happens (unless it's Batman. I mean, that would be a fucking twist, right? Maybe it's Alfred! Or is he still dead? All in, right?!) but I think I'll continue to get this series for at least one more issue. I love loving Deathstork! I've got to admit, knowing he's a paedo makes it a little bit more exciting. It's like, "Why do I like this character so much?! I'm so naughty!" Also maybe Tara was 28 and just pretending to be 14. If Hal Jordan could have his paedo tendencies retconned with comic book nonsense, Deathstork can too, right?! Maybe Tara was a Durlan who was actually three hundred years old. That would mean she was basically the paedo! Fucking Tara. So gross!


__________________________________________________________________________________
¹ I was going to call Batwoman "Mature Batman" because in The New 52, any book in which the main character was a woman who had sex, it received a Mature Rating. Robin was over in Batman and Robin cutting off heads left and right while Batman tsked at him but did that get a Mature Rating? No sir! That rating was saved for Catwoman enjoying a good frolic and Batwoman scissoring or whatever lesbians do in bed. I'd probably have a better idea if I knew what a woman's naughty bits looked like. I hope the term "scissoring" isn't a visually descriptive term because now I'm fucking terrified.³
² You know. Mindless guppies.
³ Oh wait! I forgot to finish my point about calling Batwoman "Mature Batman"! I didn't do that because I noticed that Batwoman #1 was rated "13+" while Deathstork #1 and Lobo #1 were rated "15+". So has DC finally realized that graphic depictions of violence are more harmful⁴ than women having a fulfilling sex life?
⁴ The term "more harmful" here just means "possibly could cause people to complain if they found their five year old reading it" and not actually "harmful" in any fucking sense of the actual meaning of that fucking word at all. Although by that definition, I think I agree with The New 52 DC in that people would probably complain more about Catwoman having an orgasm while unmarried more than Robin cutting off a terrorist's head.
⁵ That's a guesstimate!

Thursday, March 19, 2026

Lobo #1 (March 2026)


I got the special edition which comes with lotion, a box of tissues, and a change of underpants.

Lobo #1 (March 2026)
By Skottie Young, Jorge Corona, Jean Francois Beaulieu, and Nate Piekos
Cover by KyuYong Eom
Edited by James Reid, Kathleen Wisneski and Paul Kaminski

• I excitedly walked down to my local comic book shop to pick up Lobo #1 and then sadly looked at the shelves empty of Lobo #1s for what seemed the saddest eternity. So I went up to the owner who shall remain anonymous¹ and said, "I was looking for Lobo #1 because Lobo's about the only thing that could get me back into buying new comics!" And then she kicked me in the balls, tackled me to the ground, and yanked my arm up behind my back and growled, "Say you like big dicks, nerd. Say it! Say, 'I like big dicks!'" So between my sobs when I could catch my breath, I cried, "I like big dicks! I can't get enough of them! Mmm, mmm!" And she was all, "Yeah, I though so. I like them too." And then she helped me up, dusted me off, and we high-fived over big dicks. But, sadly, she then said, "Our DC shipment was delayed." Diplomatically, I did not say, "That's why I stopped buying comics here back in 2020! Because you never got your DC shipments!" And while, intellectually, I know, at the time, that was Diamond's problem which led to Diamond losing their stranglehold on the comic book distribution market, I still felt like maybe it's not totally the distributor's fault if this is still happening six years later? And at such a crucial time as the day the first issue of the new Lobo series shipped?!

• So later I went to Cosmic Monkey Comics and they had fifteen thousand copies of every Lobo variant on the shelves next to fifteen thousand copies of every other new comic that came out that day and also they didn't tackle me to the ground or force me to declare my love of big dicks. On the other hand, the clerk seemed to want to get rid of me as soon as possible and while normally I would attribute that to my terrible social skills, it's possible that she was just rude. Also it might have been the "I like big dicks" written in Sharpie across my forehead by Debbie. I mean the owner of that unnamed comic book store.

• Peter never treated me so roughly when he ran the store! He would always gently take my hand and wink and say, "Man, I bet you like big dicks, don't you?" And then I'd blush and I'd giggle and I'd say, "PETER!" Then he'd give me my 25% discount which I thought was for having a subscription box but it might also have been because I liked big dicks. Who can say?

• Anyway, look at this! Lobo's back! I mean, yeah, I know he's been around this whole time. But he's back with a monthly series that doesn't star a fake Lobo written by a guy who hates DC characters! I hope Alan Grant is rolling over in his grave! I mean in a happy way because he's gotten a huge boner and he's trying to get more comfortable. If Val Semeiks were dead, he'd probably have a big angel boner too. But he's alive so his boner is pure flesh and blood like mine. And he must have one because he once said, about drawing Alan Grant's Lobo, that it was "about as much fun as anyone can have drawing comics." I stole that from his Wikipedia which I went to to find out if he was still alive.

• Speaking of Val Semeiks, I should constantly praise him to the ends of the Earth because while he was having as much fun as anybody could have drawing comics, I was having the best time of my comic book reading life because of his work on Lobo and The Demon. I can't thank him and Alan Grant enough. I should also throw Keith Giffen's name into the ring while I'm at it because, well, Lobo but also Ambush Bug. And his and DeMatteis's Justice League was the League I grew up on. Thankfully! Can you imagine if you grew up on the League before that and were nostalgic about Aquaman, Gypsy, Vibe, and Commander Steel?! How embarrassing for you!

• Am I stalling? I'm so excited but I'm also scared! I'm basically an old man now. Can my heart handle this much Lobo?!


There he is! There's my sweet, sweet boy! Singing about shoving a gun up somebody's hoo-ha²!

• Lobo begins his adventure by parking his space hawg in a No Parking zone at a space dive bar. An alien parking attendant³ points out that Lobo's breaking a rule. Lobo points out that the guy should go get medical help before he dies after he rips his arm off.

• Often, Lobo avoids killing people if he's not being paid to kill them. Not because he's "honorable" but because he doesn't like providing free labor. But ripping off some guy's arm isn't killing them. Just ask Batman! If the guy doesn't seek adequate medical attention before he bleeds out, that isn't Lobo or Batman's fault, is it?! It's the carelessness of the person who carelessly lost their arm without taken precautions against dying from severe blood loss.

• Also the guy called Lobo "a rejected wannabe Kiss member" and if there's a better reason for ripping off an arm than that, I can't think of one. Unless it's telling somebody they're a Bon Jovi fan. But that should result in the loss of two arms so technically I was right in my first sentence where I said "a better reason for ripping off AN arm."


Ha ha! Lobo's so funny and clever and hot and sexy and, um, good thing this issue came with these extra underpants!

• I'm only on page three and I've already had to use the free underpants. I'd better got get some more before I continue.

• While having a drink at the bar before he murders whomever he's been hired to murder, Lobo accidentally learns a little something about himself.


So is Lobo "Murder Mouth"? Are they watching a bootleg movie about Lobo's Paramilitary Christmas Special?

• Judging by the film, Murder Mouth is more Wolverine than Lobo. But also, is there really much difference? Except that Wolverine isn't hot and sexy or funny or charming or tall or interesting in any way at all? And Fisty Claus is some kind of robot Steve Urkel with guns.

• And then I come to a part of the comic where, well . . . I don't want to say I cursed God and threw my comic book against the wall. I also don't want to say I went for a long walk in the rain while kicking rocks and sad Charlie Brown music played. I don't want to say any of that because I don't want anybody to know that that's what I did after Lobo called his readers, "mindless guppies". The readers who made Lobo the #1 all-time greatest comic book character to ever exist! The readers who couldn't get it up for regular sex anymore once they saw his physique and charming smile and his way with the sex workers without having to picture Lobo naked and aroused. The readers who spent most of their youth punching random nerds because it's what the 'Bo would do! I mean, I wasn't one of those readers! Oh, I also wasn't one of the ones who couldn't get a boner from regular sex either (unless you count "coming in your pants and then not having a boner anymore when the pants were off and it was time to actually do it" We're not counting that, right? Whew!).

• I don't know why Skottie Young would put those words in the Main Man's mouth and try to hurt his fans. Especially the "me" part Lobo's fans! But then a purple pig-faced orc says what all the awesome, cool, smart, sexy Lobo fans were already thinking which is why they didn't curse God or go for a sad walk or search "how to make a noose" on YouTube.


That's right, Grimlak the Pustulent! Exactly what I was going to say!

• When Lobo calls his readers the '80s F-word (that's not a literal reading of what he said; it's a postmodern critique!), he's reacting to the bartender's definition of an anti-hero which is "a villain that kills and frags and various other nefarious stuff, but they make jokes while they're doing it. Then they shoehorn in some kinda honorable reason for why they're doing said nefarious stuff." And that right there rules out Lobo anyway! Because he never gets a reason shoehorned in for doing his nefarious stuff! That definition of anti-hero should have been saved for Deathstork #1⁴. That ladyfingers always needs an honorable reason for murdering and pedophiling! But not Lobo! Unless you call "fixing a typo" honorable?

• As Lobo beats up all the mindless guppies who liked Rorschach for all the wrong, dumb reasons and not all the smart, postmodern reasons, he tells his secret origin story. From the first mini-series to The New 52 and beyond. I guess that's part of the whole "All-in" thing? Everything that happened, happened? No more Post Zero Hour Continuity? No more Rebirth? No more Superboy punch? No more Doctor Manhattan, um, doing, um, what was he doing again?


Oh, come on, you metro twat! Explain yourself!

• I still like to believe that New 52 Twat Lobo was just one of Lobo's drops of blood that fell into a vat of mineral water as it sprouted into a clone. That's a pop culture reference to Heathers because I'm a mindless guppy!

• Lobo also describes a brief love affair that's pretty much the one part of his story I didn't read because even though I was going to read DC's Mike Tyson's Punch-Out, I wound up not doing it. Probably because Debbie kicked me in the balls and made me admit that I wanted to be pegged when I went in to buy it.


He's just like me! I also get a crush on every woman I see in their underwear!

• The guy Lobo tells his life story to winds up being his bounty. But before he can say something witty and pop cultury like "Smell ya later!", his dawg barges in and interrupts his bounty hunting.


So what I'm hearing, Lobo, is that I can hire you to kill everybody who ever said that Boondock Saints was their favorite movie? For free?!

• I wonder how many times Jason Momoa, while in his Lobo make-up on the set of Supergirl, did the Pennywise dance?

• Now's the part where we find out why Lobo has a new series! What's changed in his life that's made it so he can have monthly adventures full of over-the-top violence and pop culture references? Full of space dolphins and space hawgs and space clown make-up? I hope he doesn't get roped into doing honorable things like that part of his life he forgot to mention where he was forced to do goody-two-shoes shit for Vril Dox. I guess if I were beaten in a one-on-one physical contest against Space Bill Gates, I wouldn't tell people about it either. Just like how I never told anybody about that time I went camping with my friend Soy Rakelson and woke up with Vaseline on my ass.

• Lobo makes a reference to Guardians of the Galaxy and I almost missed it because Lobo mentioned trash pandas and I — against every fiber of my being, every particle of my non-existent soul — squeeeeed.

• Just try to remember how most of what I say happened to me is a lie so that you won't embarrass yourself when you spread the gossip that I squeeeeed like I grew up on tumblr or cried every afternoon in college while watching Sailor Moon or, one or more times, masturbated into a sink. I say those things for comic effect! If you believe I was sobbing when I first heard "Rainy Day Man", you're certifiable! I'm super cool and tough and macho in real life. But that doesn't make for interesting or entertaining reading! It only makes for banging loads and loads of hot ladies! So if you need to spread rumors about me, spread that one! How I banged loads of hot ladies!

• Lobo goes after the bounty he's owed for the kill he didn't commit and learns that he's now an employee of HBO MAX.

• Why does it smell so bad behind my left ear but not my right ear? Do spiders shit behind people's ears? Can ears fart? Did I accidentally fling some shit up behind my ear while wiping my ass earlier?

• Whoops! Wrong window. I'd better close my journal and write in it later so that doesn't happen again. I'm just glad I wasn't talking about how wide my urethra is! Now that would have been embarrassing!

• As Lobo's finding out that Space HBO MAX wants him to star in an anti-hero reality show, he decides to have a double splash page where he pretends his hook on a chain is his dick and he's fucking the guys he's about to kill.


Simon Bisley would have hid like fifteen dicks in this art. I only count three in Jorge's.

• After Lobo kills all the security guards, the president of Space HBO MAX⁵ offers Lobo a deal to star in the biggest bounty hunting reality show since that one where that guy did bounty hunting but which I never saw. His name was Mongoose or Polar Bear or something.

• Wait. It was Dog? Just plain old Dog? Was it at least spelled cool? Or did he need it to read as "god" backwards? You know what? Never mind. I don't care. I've avoided knowing about that guy for five decades. I'll be fine never knowing about him at all.

The Ranking!
Best comic of 2026? Sure! By a mile! By five miles! By however many miles your weensy brain can imagine! Twelve, probably. If a better comic than this has been published in 2026, I'd probably have heard about it. I mean I've had heard about it and not told you to go fuck yourself because Lobo #1 was better. And since that didn't happen, quid pro ipso facto, this is the best comic book of 2026! Suck it!


__________________________________________________________________________________
¹ I wouldn't want to embarrass Debbie or Excalibur Comics, would I?
² Okay, maybe I'm misinterpreting the term "jammie" here. He's probably just talking about loading a gun and not doing the most misogynist thing he can think of immediately on the first page of his new series.
³ Or some other kind of hall monitor nerd. Maybe he just loves rules and hates seeing cool people break them. Loser.
⁴ Which I'll be reviewing next!
⁵ As big a douche as the president of Earth HBO MAX.

Tuesday, March 17, 2026

Eclipso: The Darkness Within: L.E.G.I.O.N. '92 Annual #3 (August 1992)




Eclipso: The Darkness Within: L.E.G.I.O.N. '92 Annual #3 (August 1992)
By Barry Kitson, Mike McKone, John Dell, Jack Torrance, Peter Gross, Bob Smith, Jimmy Palmiotti, Gaspar, and Lovern Kindzierski
Cover by Mike McKone and Jan Harpes
Edited by Frank Pittarese and Dan Raspler

• Should I make a list of the top ten comic book characters I'd like to fuck or would that make me sound too much like a huge anti-social nerd who too often thinks about having sex with fictional creations? Would a list of fuckable comic book characters be more or less weird than a list of animated insurance characters I'd like to fuck? Maybe if I actually fucked a real person, I'd stop thinking about fucking fictional characters that have no agency? Or would I just become the protagonist of Boxing Helena II: The Boxening?

• Shit! I meant the antagonist! Fuck! Did I just expose too much of my interior squidgy being by accidentally expressing that the main character of Boxing Helena was the guy who cut off Sherilyn Fenn's limbs and not Sherilyn Fenn?! I mean, I was joking! Ha ha! It was a joke! I totally understood Boxing Helena! Probably more than you did because I'm an introvert pervert who has only ever loved women whom I've projected my own thoughts and beliefs onto instead of actually getting to know them. Yuck!

• Anyway, that top ten list of comic book characters I'd like to fuck would include Lobo like seven times so it's probably not worth writing. Lobo drawn by Simon Bisley. Lobo drawn by Val Semeiks. Lobo drawn by Keith Giffen¹. Lobo drawn by Jorge Corona².

• Halo would have made that list when I was in my mid to late teens but now it would be just weird. Also, is she still in a coma? Because that would make it less weird. I mean more weird. Stupid squidgy interior being!

• Also, obviously if I made a list of Insurance Company cartoons, it would be Erin Esurance. I would fuck, marry, and kill her! Wait. Goddammit.

• Are there insurance company cartoons other than Erin Esurance? If they are, are they hot? Should I search them out on Deviant Art?

• The issue sort of begins³ with L.E.G.I.O.N. waiting outside the United Nations for a meeting. Maybe the reason was revealed in the monthly title. Maybe it'll be revealed here. For some reason, even though Lobo was in this series, I never fucking read it.


I don't know who this member is but she's wearing Brother Blood's belt slash loin cover-up.

• How many pages until Lobo defeats everybody and wins at comic books? I'm not sure why there's another annual after this and a final bookend Eclipso issue to finish the story. Once Lobo becomes possessed, Eclipso should have all the power he needs to accomplish whatever he wants to accomplish. Destroying the sun, I'm guessing?

• Lobo had to remain behind because, as you can see on the cover, he's missing a sleeve on his jacket and you can't go in front of the United Nations in a leather jacket missing a sleeve! Also he might kill everybody.

• Back at the hotel room where Vril Dox decided Lobo couldn't cause any trouble other than throwing the television out of the window like any Earth rock star might, Lobo decides to drink himself silly with L.E.G.I.O.N. member Scrawny. Is that her name? Scrawny? It's what Lobo calls her so probably.


Oh, no. It must be Stutters!

• Stutters isn't offering to fuck Lobo. That's just the conclusion that he and all the comic book readers leapt to. She wants to play Settlers of Catan Or whatever the equivalent to Catan was in 1992. Probably Trivial Pursuit.

• Lobo drawn by Mike McKone isn't on my list of Top Ten Comic Book Characters I'd Like to Fuck because it looks like he was using Brett Michaels as a reference. No thank you.

• Oh, Ice would be on my list! Also Supergirl's bum drawn by Mahmud Asrar. That might be on the list twice. I wonder if Mahmud has ever drawn Lobo's bum? Hmm. Be right back. Gotta see if Mahmud does commissions!

• Fire wouldn't have been on my list even before she wasn't being transphobic in this issue.


I don't think it's up to you to decide, Fire.

• I have no idea which member of L.E.G.I.O.N. is Strata she's got to be either the caterpillar, the shiny bald one with the massive shoulder pads, or the red Schmoo. None of them are on my Top Ten List of Comic Book Characters I'd Like to Fuck.

• Vril Dox didn't make it to the United Nations thing because he's out on the town looking to buy a Black Diamond. I'm going to assume he has a solid reason for buying one because he's one of them Brainiacs.

• The guy who has the diamond tells Vril Dox "No" when Vril asks him if he can buy the Black Diamond. Afterward, Vril Dox and his partner beat the shit out of the guy's henchmen.


Um, what? It's you guys who didn't understand the word "No" and then resorted to violence. Am I losing my mind here?!

• Fascism to fascists is when they don't get their way. If other people's agency stands in the way of them getting something they want, they believe their freedoms are being crushed and think that violence against the person not giving them what they want is righteous violence against the oppressor. God, I hate fascists. I know! I can't believe I've gone out on such a long, scrawny, stuttering, dangerous limb to declare such an extreme opinion!

• Also I hate libertarians. They're just authoritarians who don't have the balls to do their own violence. The only State anything they like is State violence. But only if that State violence allows them to keep doing whatever stupid fucking thing they believe they have a right to do without anybody complaining. Creeps.

• Here's a quote from Kurt Vonnegut's Mother Night (1961) that has aged like the finest wine⁴:

"There are plenty of good reasons for fighting," I said, "but no good reason ever to hate without reservation, to imagine that God Almighty Himself hates with you, too. Where's evil? It's that large part of every man that wants to hate without limit, that wants to hate with God on its side. It's that part of every man that finds all kinds of ugliness so attractive. "It's that part of an imbecile," I said, "that punishes and vilifies and makes war gladly."


Mother Night isn't one of Vonnegut's most memorable works but it should be. I hardly remembered it after reading it in my 20s. But then I just re-read it a few years ago when I turned 50 and it quickly became one of my favorites. Especially in our modern era of fucking Fox News. The thing Mother Night most taught me was that Sean Hannity should be first against the wall in the coming revolution.

• The game Lobo plays with Stutters is Scrabble. Lobo plays "fragulate". Lobo is so smart!

• Vril Dox and his helper (Lady Quark in a wig, maybe?) retrieve the Black Diamond and then leave it in the same hotel room as Lobo. Even without having seen the cover, I know that's a bad idea! Lobo's anger, rage, and violent libido can probably activate the Black Diamond from several feet away! That wasn't a length of Lobo's dick joke but it could be?

• The first page after everybody leaves Lobo and Lady Quark alone with the Black Diamond makes me laugh out loud. Probably because I'm giddy from all the love chemicals spiking through my brain right now. If I knew how to make heart emojis in HTML, every time I typed L♥B♥, the Os would be hearts. Oh look! I do know how!


1992 and Lobo has mastered the manspread.

• Vril Dox was intelligent enough to somehow beat Lobo in one-on-one combat⁵ so we've got to assume that Vril Dox wanted Lobo to get his hands on the Black Diamond and become Eclipsed. He's already said as much by admitting to Lady Quark that their visit to the United Nations is a sham and that if they really wanted to visit Earth peacefully, they wouldn't have brought Lobo. So why bring Lobo? Why pretend to negotiate an Intergalactic peace summit? Because Vril Dox wants to experiment with making Lobo into super weapon!

• Lobo trashes the hotel trying to kill Lady Quark and Stutters. I mean Zena. Apparently her name is Zena. She can absorb light to make things dark and, this is the important bit, release the light she's absorbed. When Eclipso begins bragging about how darkness is his friend and darkness can't stop the God of Vengeance and "I love Darkness's dick, baby!", Zena thinks light might save the day and blasts Lobo in the face with a million, um, Kelvin? Moles? Parsecs? of light!

• Lobo left the diamond upstairs so once Eclipso's been forced out of him, he returns to plain old regular violent Lobo.

• The rest of L.E.G.I.O.N. returns in time to miss all the action. But when Vril Dox patronizes Lady Quark while she's holding the Black Diamond, she gets super pissed and Eclipses. Or she just saw an opportunity to gain a free beatdown and slapped some make-up on so she could blame it on Eclipso.

• Lady Quark easily defeats all of L.E.G.I.O.N. leaving Lobo to save the day. But not because he wants to save the day. Because he wants to get vengeance on the God of Vengeance for using him to get vengeance on Lady Quark who is currently the God of Vengeance. No matter what happens, Vengeance shall be venged this day. Unless the Justice League shows up to fuck it all up.⁶


How could this team manage to constantly out-fail a team made of Vibe, Gypsy, and Aquaman?!

• English isn't Lobo's first language so he probably thinks "buttheads" is a lot filthier than it actually is. I mean, it sounds pretty filthy! A butt? For a head? Gross! Or is that sexy? Damn, I think it might be sexy.

• Lady Quark gets away and Zena goes missing. She was kidnapped by Bruce Gordon and his Ozymandias gang. Nobody apologizes to Lobo for assuming he was the bad guy because he'd beat the shit out of them if they tried.

• Finally having an intelligent person on the side of the good guys means somebody finally comes up with the idea to take the fight to Eclipso on the moon. It took a fucking Coluan to think up that plan!

The Ranking!
This was the best annual yet! That's a weird thing to say because it surmises that I actually likes some of the annuals and then this one was of even superior quality to those. And I hate annuals! Sure, sure. You can't really know if I liked this annual or not because Lobo was in it and I love everything Lobo is in even if it's terrible. I'll never admit to a Lobo comic being bad. You can't make me! Because, um, I don't believe any Lobo comics are bad! If I ever admitted to a Lobo comic not being the best comic, I'd be lying and that would be wrong. Plus this one had a really fucking great ending where it was all, "Only one more annual left and then the conclusion! You're almost done, baby! Celebrate by eating an entire cake!" And I was all, "Rmffleplumfgrr?"⁷


__________________________________________________________________________________
¹ Weird, sure. But intriguing!
² I mean, probably. We'll find out on Wednesday, March 18th, if I want to fuck that Lobo!
³ If you ignore the actual beginning.
⁴ Most of Vonnegut's quote age that way because when you can see reality clearly and have no agenda other than to communicate the truth of how things are, your words will always sound prophetic and modern. When you're speaking lies to manipulate people toward a selfish agenda, your words will die over time, if they don't immediately fall out of your mouth stillborn.
⁵ Which is why Lobo works for L.E.G.I.O.N. Keeping his word and being honorable is Lobo's biggest flaw!
⁶ I'm pretty sure fucking things up is in their charter.
⁷ That's "Yes, sir! Right on it, sir!" with my mouth full of half of a cake.

Saturday, March 7, 2026

Planetary #5 (September 1999)




Planetary #5 (September 1999)
By Warren Ellis, John Cassaday, Allison Fuchs, and Laura Depuy Martin
Cover by John Cassaday
Edited by John Layman

• I'm currently re-reading Cujo for the first time in nearly forty years. I wrote a Review of it several years ago based on my memories of the book. Now that I'm re-reading it, I didn't go as hard on how bad it makes you feel as I should have. I only remembered how it ended with the narrator explaining how the dog loved his man and his woman and most of all his boy and he never wanted to hurt them and he would have done anything they told him but he couldn't because of a neurological disorder called rabies. Or something. But holy fucking shit, I'm not sure I can make it through a re-read at this point in my life! I must have been a really unfeeling prick at fourteen or whenever I read it. Because now, every time King lets the reader into Cujo's head, it's fucking heartbreaking! The poor doggy! Somebody help the poor doggy! Why did you do this to the poor widdle two hundred pound puppy, King?! YOU FUCKING MONSTER!

• Man, at least the book isn't about a cat. I couldn't handle it if it were about a cat. Oh shit I hope Danielewski doesn't give the cat in The Familiar rabies or I might have to write him a thoroughly displeased tear-stained email.

• Last issue ended with Elijah Snow wandering off to find Doctor Axel Brass and his twisty baby legs. This issue begins with him finding him.


Ew. Gross.

• You might think I'm being ableist but I'm very sensitive to body horror. You should hear my terrified exclamations when I see my own penis.

• No, really. You should. As the song says, "Call me Maybe."

• Snow and Brass discuss Sparks for a bit. Ellis really likes these names that describe a character thematically. Snow is cold-hearted and aloof. Sparks is a peppy, brazen, and optimistic woman. Brass is hard, solid, and has balls.

• At least he had balls. By the look of his legs, I wouldn't expect they weren't smashed into testes jelly.

• Doc Brass spent fifty-four years trapped underground with nobody to talk to. It shows and Snow's worried about it. So he tries to distract him with video tapes.


I'm less surprised that Snow met Welles than that Snow had a girlfriend. Unless she was from Mars. Or a sentient penguin. Then I'd be all, "Oh, yeah, duh. Of course."

• Along with Jenny Sparks, Snow and Brass discuss a guy named John Cumberland. I'll assume he's from a different Wildstorm book with which I'm unfamiliar. He's dead, anyway. And he was from a parallel Earth! Looks like a Wildstorm Superman stand-in.

• One-third of this issue reads like a pulp fiction book with pictures. In these, we're introduced to Anna Hark, the daughter of China's mad genius. She would take his wealth and hide away in America inside her Hark Corporation. Are they up to no good? Did she take her father's original role of villain unto herself? We shall see!

• Snow feels like Planetary has a hidden agenda for the work they're doing and not just gathering information for the sake of it. Seems like a logical conclusion when you're dealing with a corporation that has enough money to buy whatever it needs several times over.

• Doc Brass explains that his groups secret agenda was simply to save the world from itself. But since his group died in 1945 and it's now 1999, he's realizing the arrogance of their belief. Selfish people will make the world a terrible place. But compassionate people will always stand up to the selfish. If not for Doc Brass and his Seven Soldiers, it would have been somebody else. Currently, it's The Authority. Possibly, it could be Planetary.


Most of my favorite panels are when characters are relaxed and engaging in quiet speculation.


It's probably why I despise so much of the world today. Too many people don't know how to engage with a quiet moment of introspection.


They just can't put down the Constant Stimulation Device.

• Brass mentions that he wishes Snow had been around to join them. Snow's response is enigmatic and probably worth paying attention to. I'm sure he was, um, just sucking and fucking all over the place and not helping to build a massive paranormal knowledge gathering organization at all!


I have never said this in my entire life.

The Ranking!
Here's an old poem I wrote which concerns that last panel:

"I'd love to stay and chat some more, but I've a little business to take care of"
is a thing I've never said myself,
for I have no business to speak of,
and I have no love for chat.

If you were there, and I was too
(enervated by social obligation),
I would merely stand and say,
"I must be going, my cat's at home, and I think I need a nap."

Anyway, great comic, blah blah, you should read it and shit!